• Discussion Forum
  • Weekly Newsletter
  • Yard Sale
  • News
  • Town Events
  • Philanthropy & Fundraising
  • Volunteering
  • Announcements
  • Lost & Found
Disclosure: Waylandenews Executive Director Kim Reichelt is a member of the Wayland School Committee

Wayland Weekly Flower

Non-Profit Spotlight:
Sudbury-Wayland-Lincoln Domestic Violence Roundtable

Sudbury-Wayland-Lincoln Domestic Violence Roundtable is an all-volunteer nonprofit organization of men and women incorporated in 1999. The goal of the Roundtable is to raise awareness about the issue of domestic violence through community education and networking and to improve the coordination between public and private services for victims and families touched by domestic violence.

On the web here



Advanced Search

Candidates Night

April 10, 2019 @ 7:15 pm – 9:30 pm
Wayland Town Building
41 Cochituate Rd Wayland MA
Candidates Night @ Wayland Town Building

The League of Women Voters of Wayland will hold its 69th Annual Candidates Night on Wednesday 10th in the Large Hearing Room in the Town Building. Everyone is invited to listen to and question the candidates running for election on Tuesday, April 23rd. Both contested and uncontested candidates will have an opportunity to speak. There are contests for the Board of Selectmen, Recreation Commission, and Associate Member of the Planning Board. Two candidates are running for one position on the Board of Selectmen: Tom Fay and Steven Glovsky and three people are running for two seats on the Recreation Commission: Asa Foster, Frank Krasin, and Thruston Wright. Anette Lewis and Larry Kiernan are running for Planning Board Associate. In addition to the seven people running for the three contested boards, there are nine candidates running for uncontested positions and two write-in candidates for positions without formal candidates. While not all are expected to attend, all candidates will have an opportunity to say a few words about themselves and the issues their boards are facing. Audience members are invited to submit written questions for the candidates. Refreshments will be served at 7:15 and the forum will begin promptly at 7:30 and will end at 9:30.




Wednesday, April 10, 2019


7:15                 Informal Conversation and Light Refreshments


7:30                 Welcome:  Iryna Priester

                        Procedures for the evening:  Moderator, Jo-Ann Berry

7:40 – 8:06      Contested Positions:  3 Minute Statement, 1 Minute Closing Statement, 15 Minutes Q & A

  • Asa B. Foster                          Recreation Commission
  • Frank Krasin                           Recreation Commission
  • Thruston Wright III                Recreation Commission

8: 08 – 8:23     Uncontested Positions:  2 Minute Statement, 12 Minutes Q & A

  • Courtney S. Conery                Library Trustees
  • Sarah Vernon Hubbell            Library Trustees
  • Kimberly Sklar Reichelt          School Committee
  • Michael Price Lowery             Board of Public Works

8: 25 – 8:51     Contested Positions:  3 Minute Statement, 1 Minute Closing Statement, 15 Minutes Q & A

  • Thomas J. Fay                         Board of Selectmen
  • Steven M. Glovsky                 Board of Selectmen

8:53 – 9:06      Write-In Positions:  3 Minute Statement, 12 Minutes Q & A

  • Adam Gutbezahl                     Commission of Trust Funds
  • Anna Ludwig                          Town Clerk

9:08 – 9:34      Contested Positions:  3 Minute Statement, 1 Minute Closing Statement

                        Uncontested Positions:  2 Minute Statement, 15 Minutes Q & A

  • Daniel C. Hill                          Planning Board (5-year term)
  • Jennifer M. Steel                     Planning Board (1-year term)
  • Lawrence Kiernan                   Associate Planning Board Member
  • Anette Seltzer Lewis              Associate Planning Board Member

The following uncontested candidates were unable to attend Candidates’ Night:  Board of Health:  Brian McNamara; Housing Authority:  Kevin Goodwin; Board of Public Works:  Michael Wegerbauer.  There are no candidates running for Board of Assessor.

THANKS to:  Jo-Ann Berry, LWV of Acton, for moderating; Wayland High School for use of the risers; WayCam for broadcasting Candidates Night; the residents of Wayland for attending; and especially the candidates for their willingness to participate actively in our local government.

3 comments to Candidates Night

Comments (real name required)